July 24-26, 2013
Newcastle, UK


Call for papers





PaCT Lab logo

CUPS logo

ACM logo


CyLab logo

ISR logo

Microsoft logo

Google logo

Blackberry logo

NSF logo

GSMA logo

facebook logo

Symposium On Usable Privacy and Security


SOUPS 2013 is being organized by the CyLab Usable Privacy and Security Laboratory (CUPS) and PaCT Lab. SOUPS 2013 will be held in cooperation with ACM SIGCHI.

Organizing Committee

General Chair:
Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Invited Talks Chair:
Ross Anderson, University of Cambridge, England

Lightning Talks and Demos Chair:
Yang Wang, Syracuse University, USA

Local Activities Co-Chairs:
Lynne Coventry, Northumbria University, England
Linda Little, Northumbria University, England

Panels Chair:
Marc Langheinrich, University of Lugano, Switzerland

Posters Co-Chairs:
Mike Just, Glasgow Caledonian University, Scotland
Kirstie Hawkey, Dalhousie University, Canada

Technical Papers Co-Chairs:
Lujo Bauer, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Konstantin Beznosov, University of British Columbia, Canada

Tutorials and Workshops Chair:
Sonia Chiasson, Carleton University, Canada

Technical Papers Committee

Alessandro Acquisti, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Dirk Balfanz, Google, USA
Robert Biddle, Carleton University, Canada
Sunny Consolvo, Google, USA
Rachna Dhamija, Usable Security Systems, USA
Serge Egelman, University of California, Berkeley, USA
David Evans, University of Virginia, USA
Cormac Herley, Microsoft Research, USA
Heinrich Hussmann, Technische Universität München, Germany
Apu Kapadia, Indiana University, USA
Sebastian Möller, Technische Universität Berlin and Telekom Innovation Laboratories, Germany
Paul Van Oorschot, Carleton University, Canada
Sameer Patil, Helsinki Institute for Information Technology, Finland, and Indiana University, USA
Emilee Rader, Michigan State University, USA
Robert W. Reeder, Microsoft, USA
Michael K. Reiter, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Stuart Schechter, Microsoft Research, USA
David Wagner, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Rick Wash, Michigan State University, USA

Steering Committee

Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Simson Garfinkel, Naval Postgraduate School, USA
Jason Hong, Carnegie Mellon University
Heather Richter Lipford, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Andrew Patrick, Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, Canada
Stuart Schechter, Microsoft Research, USA
Diana Smetters, Google, USA
Mary Ellen Zurko, Cisco, USA

Registration and Arrangements

Tiffany M. Todd
Administrative Coordinator
Carnegie Mellon University